Category:

La Serine

Historically, Serine is another grape variety that grew on the hills of Côte-Rôtie. It is a tribute to this almost extinct grape variety. Some even say it is another name for Syrah. This variety thrives in the granite soils and steep hillsides of this appellation. Our Serine is a powerful wine with a delicate and complex backbone. Notes of ripe red fruit mingle with spice, thyme and laurel and evolve into menthol and pepper on the finish. A wine that will leave a lasting impression.

Les cartes en main

Nature

Situated on the right bank, these vineyards enjoy an eastern exposure and are characterized by their vertical hillsides. We have to double up as rock climbers as well as winemakers! These south facing parcels benefit from excellent sunshine levels as well as the effects of the northerly winds. It really is quite an experience cultivating these high altitude parcels!

The hand of man

These vineyards are pretty much vertical! In order to facilitate cultivation, the Syrahs, which is the predominant varietal, are supported by stakes. Everything is manual, from tillage to cultivation and harvesting. Every glass of this wine is truly deserved!

Character and potential

Organoleptic profile: deep red hue and aromas of raspberry and spice on the nose. The palate reveals notes of truffle, dried fruits and leather. This appellation is in the far north of the valley. The extreme wine growing conditions are palpable in this wine owing to its finesse, density, strength. The superlatives to describe this Côte-Rôtie are endless.

Notre ambition

Vision

Edouard Guérin: ‘The warm notes of stewed fruits from the intense sunshine intertwine perfectly with floral aromas from these rather complicated acid soils

Profile

We want this fine wine to open up and talk to us. The steepness of the hillsides could easily translate into a sensation of austerity and harshness in the wine. It is therefore our mission to soften it, earn its trust and get it chatting.

Tasting notes

The nose is intense and complex although difficult to decide whether the mineral notes dominate or the fruity notes or the floral notes. The palate is direct and mineral with a surprising freshness, crunchy tannins and notes of apricot, characteristic of a Viognier. So what should we do with it? Keep it or drink it? It is undeniably delicious right now but what a wine this will be if you’re able to wait ten years!

Détails techniques

Additional information

SOIL TYPES

Micaschists and gneiss, brown rock.

VARIETALS

Syrah

VINIFICATION

Daily pumping over and pigeage at the end of fermentation and during the vatting process.

AGEING

80% concrete vats, 20% barrels and demi-muids for 12 months.

FOOD AND WINE PAIRING

Red meat, game, stews

SERVING TEMPERATURE

16-18°C

CELLARING POTENTIAL

+10 years

A retenir

World renowned AOC
Steep hillsides
Small production
East facing vines on the right bank
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Catégories : ,

La Serine

Historiquement, la Serine est un autre cépage qui  poussait sur les collines de Côte-Rôtie. C’est un hommage  à ce cépage presque disparu. Certains disent même que  c’est un autre nom de la Syrah. Ce cépage s’épanouit  dans les sols granitiques et les coteaux escarpés de cette  appellation. Notre Serine est un vin puissant avec une  colonne vertébrale délicate et complexe. Des notes de  fruits rouges mûrs se mêlent aux épices, au thym et au  laurier et évoluent vers le menthol et le poivre en finale. Un  vin qui laissera une impression durable.

Les cartes en main

La nature

Situé sur la rive droite du Rhône, face au levant, le vignoble se caractérise par la verticalité de ses pentes. Ici on est autant terrassier que vigneron ! Les parcelles sont orientées au sud, un ensoleillement bénéfique aux vignes qui restent à l’abri des vents du nord. Mais quel travail en altitude !

La main de l'homme

Ici tout est vertical ! Pour faciliter le travail des vignes, les Syrahs – principal cépage – sont conduites en échalas. Tout est donc manuel : travail des sols, conduite du végétal et vendanges. Chaque verre se méritera.

Caractère et potentiel

Profil organoleptique : de la robe rouge profond se dégagent des arômes de framboise mêlés d’épices, la bouche est sur la truffe et les fruits secs, le cuir et le cacao. C’est l’appellation la plus au nord de la vallée. Un extrémisme que l’on retrouve dans les vins produits : finesse, densité, puissance, les superlatifs ne manquent pas pour décrire le Côte-Rôtie.

Notre ambition

Vision

Edouard Guérin : « L’expression des notes de fruits rôtis par le soleil se mêlent si bien aux notes florales de ces sols acides et exigeants ! »

Le profil

Nous allons chercher à rendre bavard ce grand vin. La raideur des coteaux peut aisément se retrouver sous une forme d’austérité hermétique en bouteille. Donc tout est fait pour le rendre aimable et lui donner de la conversation.

En dégustation

« Le nez est très intense et complexe : difficile d’identifier une dominante entre les caractères minéraux, les notes fruitées et florales. La bouche est très franche, minérale, avec une fraîcheur surprenante, les tanins sont fins et croquants, notes d’abricot typiques du Viognier. Alors ? On entame la valse des hésitations : maintenant c’est étonnamment délicieux et prêt à boire... mais quelle bouteille d’anthologie dans 10 ans ! »

Détails techniques

Informations complémentaires

TYPE DE SOL

Arènes granitiques et gneiss

CÉPAGES

Syrah

VINIFICATIONS

Remontages quotidiens et pigeages en fin de fermentation et au cours de la cuvaison

ÉLEVAGES

80% cuves béton, 20% barriques (demi-muids et fûts) pendant 12 mois.

ACCORDS

Viandes rouges, gibiers, daubes

T° DE SERVICE

16-18°C

GARDE

+10 ans

A retenir

AOC de réputation mondiale
Coteaux escarpés
Production confidentielle
Vignes en rive droite face à l’est - Grande garde
Ce site est enregistré sur wpml.org en tant que site de développement.